Ronan is ten months old, and a bit.

I’m sorry, Ronan: your post got a little lost along the way this month. It must have been because I have been so busy chasing you around: I’m not used to having two mobile children, and this month’s changes have certainly been a bit of a shock to the system.

You aren’t actually crawling yet, at least, not in the strictest sense of the word. You do, however, manage to propel yourself backwards with a great deal of vigour. As you can’t see where you’re going, you tend to end up getting stuck under the sofa a lot of the time, whereupon you squeak furiously until one of us comes to rescue you. You combine this backwards commando manoeuvre with your other favoured form of movement: like Unterholzer’s dog, you get about by rolling. I can tell you think it’s all a bit of a faff, and you’d really rather just be running after your big brother, but I’d be quite happy if you held off on that until I’d had a chance to work out a couple of Ronan-containment strategies.

You are making a lot of interesting sounds, and we’ve had a few moments when you have said what sound like words. My mum was amazed when, as she was feeding you roast lunch one day, she asked you if it was good lamb, and you promptly repeated “good lamb” in a small, clear voice. I realise that this is a bit of an infinite monkeys with infinite typewriters situation, but we have, at least, established that you understand the word “pudding”, judging by the way you bounce up and down in delight when we say it. You have a very endearing habit of grinning and drumming on your tummy when you’re enjoying a meal, and you can spot a banana from twenty paces. You still don’t have a tooth in your head, but we reckon that, once they start appearing, there’ll be no stopping you.

The most exciting achievement this month is that you have learned to wave, sometimes to Daddy, and frequently to Eoin, who is pretty much your hero. Eoin is very impressed about this, in part, at least, because it means he has his own personal groupie: the boy loves an audience.

We all love you lots, Snuggly. Try not to drool on us quite so much, though, eh?

2015/01/img_3002.jpg

4 thoughts on “Ronan is ten months old, and a bit.

  1. What an adorable post! I know I would love snuggling this little guy once I freed him from the sofa. It must be so amusing to see him interact with Eoin. I can hardly wait for Zack and Kevin to begin their antics together.

  2. Aw, such a lovely update! It seems it’s a universal thing in babies to look up to bigger siblings with such adoration. My littley is the same. You’ve made me even more excited about first words and movement. Although I am scared of movement too. Hello Ronan! *waves*

    • Movement is both exciting and terrifying at the same time! I was lucky that Eoin didn’t move at all for ages, so I had time to get used to the idea. I think Ronan is going to be a bit quicker off the mark, though. I’m sure they both send waves back! 😊

Leave a comment