Hello? Is this thing on?

Blimey, that was a bit of a long hiatus, wasn’t it? I know it’s not really good practice to start a blog post by pointing out that it is a long time since you last wrote, but in this case, I feel I need to. It has, after all, been months. In the spirit of trying to be a better blogger, though, this post is just going to be a short note announcing my reappearance. I have some plans for upcoming posts, but, in the meantime, I should give some brief explanation of what I’ve been doing while I’ve been away from the keyboard. 

Over the last few months, I have mostly been…

  • Chasing an increasingly mobile Ronan around the house, stopping him from climbing the stairs, hiding inside the dishwasher, and attempting to eat the contents of the flowerbeds. 
  • Being taught basic Welsh by Eoin: apparently the approved way of saying that the weather is good is “Dim bwrw glaw”, though I remain unconvinced of this.
  • Going back to work after a fairly lengthy period of maternity leave. Thankfully, I work with a very lovely group of people who don’t seem to mind I tend to turn up in scruffy mum-clothes, because scruffy mum is really about the only look I can pull off at the moment. 
  • Learning all sorts of interesting things to do with GitHub, InDesign, Markdown, and Python, and generally attempting to become more technologically-minded. I’ve even been doing some soldering: if you now have a mental picture of a technologically-challenged ex-librarian armed with a dangerously hot piece of metal, you are probably very afraid. Don’t be: I haven’t destroyed anything, yet. 
  • Spending far too much time messing around on Instagram and Pinterest. It is for work, I promise. 
  • At long last, putting all my books on bookshelves. This may sound like a small achievement. For me, it’s quite substantial!

I have a few posts on different topics in mind, some of which are likely to be easier to write than others. Hopefully, though, I will manage a shorter gap between posts this time.

In the meantime, and in the spirit of my new-found Instagram addiction, I would like to leave you with a picture, though I have resisted the urge to go crazy with the filters. This is one of my favourite things in one of my favourite places in Cambridge: the table in Jim Ede’s bedroom in Kettle’s Yard. It is one of the most beautiful, serene spaces I have ever seen, and I hope you enjoy this as much as I do. 

  

3 thoughts on “Hello? Is this thing on?

  1. “Is this thing on” (2)
    I thought I had left a message, but heaven knows where…I love this table, and in fact made a pilgrimage to Cambridge to see it, and loved the house too. Would that life were so simple and serene…

    • I suspect the message may have become trapped by a filter somewhere! The table really is beautiful, isn’t it? I realise that my habit of collecting pebbles and sea-glass probably stems from my fascination with Kettle’s Yard!

Leave a comment