NaBloPoMo: day 7. In which I rely on prompts through sheer desperation.

Week one of NaBloPoMo is finished, and, while I do have some ideas for the next few weeks, certainly don’t have 23 separate posting topics lined up. Fortunately, though, BlogHer have provided writing prompts for all the weekdays in November (weekends are left clear for free writing), and I’m going to grab onto today’s with both hands. So, without further ado, I present “Five things I have learned about daily blogging”, by Lorna Lynch, aged 34½.

  1. It is so much harder than I expected it to be! I know this is a ridiculous thing to have only just realised now (like NaNoWriMo, NaBloPoMo is supposed to be a challenge, after all), but at this point I do find myself wondering how in the world I’m supposed to find interesting things to write about, or good subjects for photography, to keep me going for the whole month. At the moment, I (and any poor, benighted readers I have out there) can only hope.
  2. I would do a lot better on the blogging if I didn’t keep procrastinating: today, despite having a really efficient work-email session while Eoin was intently building a giant heap of cars in the sitting room, I somehow managed to spend the time I had earmarked for post-writing this evening reading a giant thread on cultural differences on Mumsnet, and thinking, “Hey: they’re right! Stephen does think so-and-so thing is odd about living in the UK, and I don’t understand the widespread Irish fascination with immersion heaters!” I sometimes wonder how I manage to function on a day-to-day basis when I am this easy to distract.
  3. Despite my ongoing struggles with my inherent dilatoriness and fluctuating inspiration levels, I’m really happy to be doing more writing (and photography, and knitting, and recipe-testing). I went through a bit of a dry spell in the first trimester of this pregnancy when I was really having difficulty doing anything beyond dragging myself out of bed at a reasonable time and not crawl straight back under the duvet as soon as possible. Because, like Magrat Garlick, my immediate response in most situations is an overwhelming feeling of randomised guilt, it was inevitable that some of that guilt would centre around my slowness in updating a blog I, after all, had decided to set up. Having some sort of impetus to get over myself and get writing is actually very helpful: let’s hope it continues.
  4. Of course, you can’t blog if you have nothing to blog about. I have realised that my general inertia over the last few months has spread into most areas of my life: I haven’t been cooking much (in part, admittedly, because I haven’t been eating much); I haven’t been knitting, spinning or sewing; I haven’t really been taking photographs. Clearly, it’s not just in the blogging area that I need a massive kick up the backside. I’ve been trying to sort myself out, and have even cast on an Aidez, of which, no doubt, more later. Unfortunately, my problem is that the need to blog versus need to create material about which to blog conflict with each other, inevitably engendering a massive procrastination loop which brings me right back to point 3. Maybe I need to drink more coffee?
  5. I know, I know: a poor workwoman blames her tools, but it is very, very hard to take decent photos with my phone: I apologise for the ropey quality of the images illustrating the posts over the last week. Admittedly, I can’t blame anyone but myself for the soup picture in terms of subject, but I can’t help feeling that my lovely macro lens might have done a better job of making a bowl of slightly orange liquid look, well, somewhat more photogenic. I am now determined to hold Stephen down at the weekend and compel him to download the contents of the SD card (his images) to his computer. Mind you, my constant attempts to perpetrate photography with any other available device has turned Eoin into a tiny prima donna (is there such a thing a primo uomo?). He has taken to striking a pose each time he sees me take my phone out: EoinThis might be a bit more successful if he wasn’t usually covered in mud, paint or, as in this case, bits of half-masticated apple. He’s still cute, though, so I can’t hold it against him.

I’m glad I’ve managed a whole week of daily updates, and I hope you haven’t found them too tiresome to read. I’m busily thinking of more possibilities for recipe-themed posts (don’t worry, Sian: I’ll avoid the offal!), and working on a couple of knitting projects, so I hope I’ll be able to come up with a more coherent and structured set of posts for the coming weeks. In the meantime, good luck to everyone else who is participating: I hope you’re less afflicted with procrastination than I am!

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo: day 7. In which I rely on prompts through sheer desperation.

Leave a Reply

