Procrastination, NaBloPoMo and an announcement

So… it’s been a while! I’m afraid I have been rather remiss as far as blog postings are concerned. I have been meaning to write more for ages, but have been afflicted by a word-based version of the famous knitter’s dilemma: second sock syndrome. The idea is that, having enthusiastically knitted the first sock of a pair, you just can’t seem to get past the cast on for the second one. Whether it’s caused by complacency, apathy, or just the feeling that knitting one blasted sock should be enough, dammit, the end result is that you find yourself either wearing two unmatched wool socks, or shivering with cold, sockless feet.

Moving on from the yarny metaphor, it seems as if some form of blog- and life-based inertia has struck here. I haven’t been knitting, I haven’t been cooking, and I certainly haven’t been writing. It’s getting ridiculous, and I really need some sort of kick up the backside. I’ve already started and abandoned one blog, and I really have no desire to let another fade away just because I can’t seem to manage to hit the “post” button. With that in mind, I have decided I’m going to attempt NaBloPoMo this November. For those not in the know, NaBloPoMo, or National Blog Posting Month, is a month-long writing exercise that occurs each November. It was inspired by NaNoWriMo, or National Novel-Writing Month, the fearsomely tough writing challenge which requires authors to produce a complete 50,000 word novel during November. My friend Sam has done NaNoWriMo for the last few years, and has been nagging me to join in. I have no illusions about my inability to produce an entire novel with no plot, no inspiration and relatively little free time, but the alternative challenge of NaBloPoMo seemed like something I could attempt while retaining a modicum of sanity and, I hope, giving a bit of a fillip to the poor, languishing blog.

So, here we go… Realistically, I know it’s fairly unlikely that I will be churning out screeds of prose every day. I certainly won’t have 50,000 words of blog posts at the end of the month, unless Eoin suddenly develops a preternatural degree of independence and heads off to college. I’d like to try to get something online every day, though, even if, on some days, it’s just a photograph or a few sentences. I know from Sam’s novel-writing experiences that this sort of challenge is pretty gruelling: I’m hoping I make it to the end of the month without having resorted to transcribing episodes of Peppa Pig, or having a Shining moment and going quietly bonkers over my keyboard.

Now for the announcement, which, I’ll admit, probably has something to do with the aforementioned procrastination and lack of any sort of domestic projects. As you may already have twigged if you follow me on Twitter, I’m expecting baby number two in March. I don’t think I anticipated quite how tiring it is being pregnant with a toddler around, and I’ve spent the last 20 weeks alternately sleeping as much as possible, fantasising about being able to sleep more, and bribing Eoin to be quiet with doses of our porcine friend from the previous paragraph, just so I can lie down on the sofa and groan quietly. I don’t doubt that there will be some posts later in the month where I get down to some serious mithering about pregnancy, babies and the future, but, for the moment, I’ll just say that it’s another boy, that everything (thankfully) looks as if it is going well so far, and that Eoin is determined to name the poor thing something entirely inappropriate. If, in a few months’ time, I am announcing the birth of little Thomas the Tank Engine Cheddar Biscuit Lynch, you’ll know he has somehow figured out how to blackmail me.

For now, though: wish me luck! I have a lot of writing to do over the next 30 days.

7 thoughts on “Procrastination, NaBloPoMo and an announcement

  1. Hey! How did I miss that?! Congratulations! You have a perfect excuse for doing absolutely nothing. In fact, I give you the next 18 months off. At least.
    Although, I’m quite looking forward to reading what you come up with this month …

  2. Thank you all for the congratulations! Good luck to everyone else undertaking challenges in November, whether literary or geographical 😉

Leave a Reply

