Christmas close-up

This post is brought to you courtesy of my husband, who, in a stupidly generous manner, bought me a new lens for my camera. It’s a 100mm f/2.8 Macro, which means it’s awfully good at doing this sort of thing:

Hydrangea skeletonSquirrel!The resolution is amazing: you can zoom right in on the squirrel’s little munching jaws, and still see masses of detail, which is all the more impressive given that I was photographing him from several metres away. Thought the kitchen window. The dirty kitchen window.

Close encounters of the squirrel kind

Close encounters of the squirrel kind

I have a worrying feeling, though, that all this really amazing photographic equipment means I’m actually going to have to read the manual at some point. I’ll probably have to learn what an f-stop is. Hold me, blogosphere: things are about to get technical.

6 thoughts on “Christmas close-up

  1. I am so impressed, especially with the leaf picture. I had a very generous gift of a canon EOS and still haven’t read the manual or the book. I keep thinking I am going to wake up one morning and be completely able to use it. I struggle on. You have given me some inspiration.

    • Thanks, Maria! It’s a really lovely camera, isn’t it? Looking at your blog, though, you’re already doing a pretty good job with the photographs!

      • Thank you Lorna but I have to confess they are all taken on one setting and sometimes I get a better picture using the phone camera! After reading your posting I actually got the Dummies manual down to read.

Leave a Reply

