Weekly Photo Challenge: Free Spirit

I know I’m behind again, but I took the photos for this on Friday morning, UK time, so technically – technically – I’m within the deadline for the week. At least, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Friday is Eoin’s morning out with the childminder, which makes it my morning of no responsibility. It’s the one time in the week when I can swim, go back to bed for a nap, get to grips with the sewing machine… All the little, mundane activities which make me feel more human, more sane, more like me. As much as I love Eoin, I do cherish these few hours of freedom every week, and I think I come back to him a better, happier, calmer person for them.

This Friday, I was tired and had no energy for swimming, but I didn’t want to go back to the house and sleep: the weather was too good, and who wants to waste one of those early September days which feels more like the beginning of summer? I sat on the beach, listening to the waves and getting dazzled by the brilliant early morning sun, which was making a track over the water away from me, towards the English coast.

There was nobody else in view: no boats were out, and the dog-walkers all seemed to have gone elsewhere. With nobody to judge me, I went for a paddle in the sea, shoes and all.*

It seems to be rare enough that anyone has the chance to be a free spirit: in a week of nappies, laundry, budgeting and worrying, I’m very grateful that I have this little window of time to be alone with the sea and the sky.

*Don’t worry: they’re Crocs, and this is basically what they’re designed for. If I did ruin them, I doubt anyone would miss them. Well, I would, but the fashion gods would be cheering.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Free Spirit

    • New people to climb all over, other children’s wheels to be made off with… It’s a barrel of laughs for him. I’m not too sure about the poor, long-suffering lady who is minding him, though.

      Of course, you realise we’ll all be heading down to the beach with tea and welshcakes when you guys come to visit!

Leave a Reply

