Weekly Photo Challenge: Today

I’ve tried to abide by the rules for the week: I got my camera out as soon as I had read the post, and took these pictures without too much thought. They are my view of “today” (and Eoin’s, of course): they’re snapshots and as such they’re not beautifully posed. I’ve added a slightly silly polaroid effect to underline this. Well, partly for that reason: I also just really like playing with photo-editing software.

Friday is the day Eoin usually goes to a childminder for the morning. Because today was the Friday before the Jubilee weekend, he went to a Jubilee party at playgroup: he had to dress in red, white and blue, and got to eat lots of party food and wear a sparkly hat. He was originally dressed in his Louth jersey, in order to balance the UK-centric element of the day, but it sustained some serious blueberry damage during his lunch, so he had to be changed into his stunt shirt*:

The stunt shirt survived pretty well until tea time, when it took a battering from the combined forces of home-made ratatouille, fish fingers and mango. Although I did my best to clean it off, you can see that the little chap is still rather orange about the face. In this picture, he’s in the middle of wreaking havoc in the sitting room, which happens after tea on most days.

So, what did I do with my free morning? This:

It’s a dress made from Simplicity 2209, in a rose-print cotton from Ikea, of all places. As you can see, it’s not finished yet, but I’m really pleased with what I’ve managed today. Knife pleats, fancy bodice darts, interfacing…they’re all new skills, and somehow, even with all that novelty, the dress does look as if it’s going to fit.

Eoin’s today has already ended in bed, and mine is heading that way soon (after a Friday night glass of Sancerre, of course). I hope your today is going as well as ours did.

Oh, I nearly forgot: this is my 100th post. Woohoo! I hope this blog is going a little bit better than the previous one.

*To be fair, the Louth GAA jersey and the Wales rugby shirt are pretty similar, except that the former has St Bridget’s Crosses and Irish writing on it, while the latter has dragons and Welsh. Both pass muster with Eoin’s dad due to lack of Union flags.

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Today

  1. That fabris is perfect for that dress, and yet again, you have whipped up something beautiful out of thin air 🙂 Glad you had some creative time to yourself x

    • This was why I needed the famous red bias binding!

      I’m planning to wait to bind the armholes until after I’ve inserted the invisible zip: that will work, won’t it? *defers to greater sewing knowledge* I also need to add some retrospective bust darts before it’s too late…

    • Thank you! I think it’s working out well: I’ve managed to put the invisible zip in, so it’s just the bias binding to go…

Leave a Reply

