And to all a good night!

After a brief period of upheaval, we are now safely ensconced with my parents for Christmas: the presents have been wrapped, the turkey has been baconed (apparently this is a verb, or so I was told in no uncertain terms this morning), and Eoin has enjoyed his first sprout. S and I have been able to sneak out for a grown-up lunch with friends in the Poshest Restaurant in Preston™, which involved a great deal of pudding and a healthy dose of Chianti. There was a small wobble when we realised there are no longer any swings in the village for Eoin’s daily constitutional (my mum reckons they have been taken into storage for the winter. I think they have been condemned as unsafe, largely because they were ancient and crumbling when I was a wee one), but we’re hoping that vast quantities of wrapping paper might keep him entertained until Boxing Day. Little more remains to be done but to try to manage a complete night’s sleep before the general decadence and indulgence begins tomorrow.

So…

Nollaig Chridheil

Nadolig Llawen

Nollaig Shona

Joyeux Noël

Frohe Weinachten

Prettige kerstdagen

Buon Natale

…and, of course, Merry Christmas to everyone!*

*I couldn’t remember how to say “Happy Christmas” in Latin, but I’m sure Caecilius will forgive me.

Leave a Reply

